Spread Joy · Uncategorized

To be a Child of God

Recently, I had tickets to take my older daughter into the city by train and go see a show. Of course, the day of the show arrived, and I had a touch of a cold still lingering and therefore hadn’t slept the best, and I woke up to hear the roads were terrible from a freezing rain/snow combo. Well, this left me feeling incredibly anxious. Anxiety is not something I would say has been an issue for me for long, in fact, I believe when I became a Christian, it really seemed to calm my nerves, but lately its been an issue for me, hence why the blog says “Walk with me as I learn to accept God’s comfort.”

So, now my daughter is thrilled, and so was I – the day had finally arrived, and we could have special one on one time, and cue anxiety to overcast excitement. I began to pray, “Father God,  I pray you help my daughter and I arrive safely please, and please clear the roads where we need to go and take care of us...” And then I heard the whisper of the Holy Spirit remind me that I am to pray boldly. After all, I am speaking to the One who created the entire universe, separated the red sea and gave me Jesus. Hebrews 4:16 tells us, “So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God. There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it most.” So, I stood firm and declared “Okay Father God, I’m not going to waste my time tip toeing around this, I am tense and anxious, but you know how excited I am. I trust you to go before me and protect me, and I trust you to give me discernment while I’m driving, and Lord I declare this day is going to be amazing, and when I get home this evening, I will say ‘We had an amazing day, and all the glory to God for it!’ I boldly declare this in Jesus’ MIGHTY and POWERFUL name, Amen.

Immediately, I felt my excitement return and my fears subside. I told my daughter, the roads are slippery so we will leave early and take our time, and its going to be a great adventure no matter what happens! We got in the van, drove safely to our train, we made it with 3 minutes to spare (which is actually way better, no waiting around!) We got the best seats that she wanted, in the second floor of the train, and normally that would make me feel a bit car sick, but I felt fine. We arrived to our destination, and had to transfer to a subway. On our walk over, a car was stuck trying to exit a parking lot. I had my daughter stand safely to the side, and I helped with a few other strangers to push the car out. I felt proud to know my almost 6 year old daughter saw me use courtesy and strength to help others and I quietly thanked God for the chance to have her see me make a small difference in someone’s day after all we lead more by example than with words. We then walked to the subway, and thankfully I knew the station from when I used to live in the city, so that helped a lot! I had looked up the subway prices the night before and told the man waiting that I wanted an all day pass, and pulled my master card out. He said, “We only take exact cash or fares.” I told him, I didn’t have cash as I use my card for everything to get rewards. “Oh,” he said “well in that case, go on through, consider it a Christmas gift. Merry Christmas.” My daughter and I were so excited and amazed! Free subway passes!

We walked down to the waiting area, and the subway came a few seconds later, again, no wait! We counted our 14 stops, and got off where we needed to go. I was unsure of the area, but I figured there’d be somewhere we could grab a bite to eat before our noon show time. It was 11:15. Just enough time! When we came up from below ground, I saw a Pizza Pizza! Excellent, as we both love pizza. We went in and they only had two flavours, cheese and pepperoni, so we waited in the line and discussed our choices when suddenly the man working there brought literally every other flavour out! We got to chose our favourites – Hawaiian and Garden Veggie. What a blessing! All around us, little moments were happening. We ate and walked over to the show just as the doors opened. We had enough time to find and use the washrooms, and our seats, and within a few minutes the play began. It was perfect, and we both enjoyed it so much! On our walk back to the subway, I realized a store I had always wanted to check out was on our route, and was closing forever December 31st, so we went and scratched that off my childhood bucket list! Just in time, as it was December 17th! We found small little souvenirs for each of her siblings, and her, and we headed back to the subway.

I explained to the woman that I didn’t know I needed exact cash as I was from out of town, and she asked me what I had on me, and I told her 50 cents. She said through that in and be on your way! So for my $12 total, I paid 50 cents to board the subway there and back! Amazing. Once again, it arrived almost immediately. On our walk back to the train, we had enough time to find a Tim Hortons and grab a drink, and as soon as we arrived in the train station, the train arrived too (its a half hour cycle so that was so exciting.) We got back to our vehicle as the freezing rain started, but the entire drive was smooth and we had no issues. We walked in the door just as my lovely husband was serving dinner.

As I had prayed, our day was perfect. Glory to God for that!

I couldn’t help but reflect on the day, how I always made sure my daughter was on the inside of the sidewalk, how I was just as excited about this trip because I knew she was excited, how I stopped to grab her a kit kat, completely out of the ordinary for us just because she asked and it seemed like a fun thing to do, how much fun we had together just chatting, and running through the snow and seeing the city that is so different from our small town.  It donned on me in that moment, that I took such pleasure in making this trip happen for my daughter, that I enjoyed buying her treats along the way, that I graciously put her on the inside of the sidewalk just because I love her and want to see her safe. That’s when I realized, that’s what God had done for me – his daughter. He heard my frantic call for comfort, and he provided. He kept me safe, he provided tiny blessings through out the entire day, including perfect timing and my favourite pizza slice. And I bet, just as I smiled at my daughter and felt thankful for the opportunity to treat her, He felt the same.

He didn’t roll His eyes when I said “God, I need you.. yet again!” Instead he gave me peace, and then some! He doesn’t think I’m a bother when I go to Him, instead He is thankful that I chose to seek Him for comfort. Just as it was my pleasure to serve my daughter and do something wonderful for her out of the deep love that I have for her, so was it God’s pleasure to serve me, His daughter, and to do something wonderful for me, someone he has a deep love for. Do you realize how amazing that is? God isn’t bothered by the little details of our lives, in fact He wants to see us thrive and rejoice. He wants to see us happy just as I want to see my children happy. He wants to comfort us, just as I want to comfort my children when something is wrong. If I love my children so much it makes me a little nauseous to think about, how much more does God love me, and you too? His love is immeasurable. Accept it, and cling to it. You are God’s creation and He made you with a purpose for a purpose. He loves you more than you can imagine possible!!

2 thoughts on “To be a Child of God

Leave a Reply

